Goodbye 2016. Hello 2017!

img_20161231_174936b

Wow, it’s been a long time since I’ve posted here. After my last post, I started my final year in my Master’s program and things just got crazy busy. I was also working at the same time and just somehow allowed a lot of the fun things to slip through the cracks, including this blog. But it’s a new year and that means a fresh start, right? I’m ready! So here is a brief summary of where I’ve been the past few months and what lies ahead in 2017!

Where I’ve been…

Mostly I’ve been in the library studying or in an office working. I know, so exciting! Actually, I do really enjoy the library but I enjoy it a lot more when I can just sit and enjoy reading or browse through the stacks looking for new treasures rather than fighting for a spot with both Wi-Fi and an outlet so I can crank out another assignment before racing off to work. Most of that final year in the Master’s program, I had one or two jobs in addition to my school work and by the end of it, I had three. They were all part-time and good opportunities to gain experience but juggling it all was a bit much. As things got busier and busier, I gradually gave up more and more of things that I thought weren’t absolutely necessary, like hiking and the beach. I think I went on only one hike that last year and then I went only because it was a function for an organization for which I was an officer. >_< I did make it through the year though and now I have my Master’s. Yay!

Since then I’ve mostly been…in the office. Anyone guess that? I kept those three part-time jobs and increased my hours so I’ve been working over 40 hrs/wk pretty much since the Monday after graduation. While I feel very fortunate to have had the opportunity to work on these projects, I’ve realized that I need a change if I’m really going to enjoy life instead of just racing through it. I don’t want to just be working toward this or that deadline being over. I want to look forward to exploring the world and enjoying all the little things in each day. Plus I have other life-changing events ahead, but I’ll get to that. ^_~

It hasn’t been all work and no play (even though it’s felt like it at times). We did have an amazing vacation in Winter 2015-2016. We spent just about the entire break traveling to see family in Virginia and California and also touring around England and France. It was amazing! It was definitely a bit of a whirlwind because we had so many places to visit in a short amount of time (plus both my husband and I started the trip with what I suspect was the flu). Perhaps I can share some of the highlights in an upcoming post. I definitely wouldn’t mind revisiting!

Where I’m going…

Where I’m going is a little harder for me to put into words because there are a lot of uncertainties ahead. One of my projects has now ended so I am now officially down to just 40 hrs/wk and I’m taking this time to really look at priorities and how I want to spend my time and energy. I’ve spent the last week working on my goals/resolutions for the year and  the broad areas I want to focus on are my connection to family/friends, fitness/health (always makes my list), and just enjoying life! Just having these in mind have already made it easier to put aside the work laptop and relax a bit the past couple days with things like walks on the beach, a trip to the movies, and watching the sun set.

p1130002b

Walking along Kailua Beach on New Year’s Day

The largest life change coming though is something my husband and I are super excited about (and occasionally terrified about, if I’m being honest)…we’re having a baby!!! We are expecting our little bundle of joy to arrive toward the end of February, which seems to be approaching faster than I thought possible! The last few months have absolutely flown by with us being so busy and I feel like I’ve only just now found time to really settle down and start the serious preparation for the baby. Sure, I’d gone to all my prenatal checkups, read along week by week in the pregnancy book my doctor gave me, and made lists of all the things that need to be done before the big day….but actually getting things done was another matter. Now I’ve had a little time to clear out space for baby things, rearrange the furniture to optimize space for the crib, and just generally ‘nest’ and I feel so much better for it. I know I can’t plan for everything but now that I feel a bit more prepared, I think I can just enjoy the anticipation a bit more and look forward to our little one’s arrival. ^_^

So that is where I am now as the new year begins. I’ve made it through a challenging few months and now have new adventures ahead of me. Looking forward to really living and loving 2017!

2 comments

  1. Congrats Marvelous Myra on the upcoming baby event, I am so very happy for you and your husband. At times the challenge can be overwhelming but that is when you take a deep breath and slowly let it out to relax then plunge back in. You will be a wonderful Mom.
    All the best to you and your growing family in 2017

    1. Nancy, thank you for your kind comments! I think this will be one of the most challenging things I’ve ever done but also the most rewarding. Wishing you all the best in 2017!

Leave a Reply

