Things I’m Loving – January 2017

It’s already the end of January which means it’s time to take a quick look back at the first month of the year AND we are that much closer to our little one’s arrival! It’s been a super busy month with preparing to be a first-time mom and trying to finish up all the tasks still on my plate at work before I start my maternity leave. Wish me luck…I’m going to need it! And as always, I like to think about some of those little things that I’ve been enjoying throughout the month. So here are things I’ve been loving in January!

1. New Lenovo Y700-15ISK laptop 

Image source: http://www.amazon.com

My big Christmas gift from my husband was a brand new laptop and I love it! My previous laptop was still working so I wasn’t completely convinced I needed a new one at first but I have to admit it was showing more and more signs of impending failure…plus it was probably about 9 years old. Yes, I get attached. 😉 When I opened up the new laptop, I thought it looked rather intimidating at first. It’s really built to be a gaming laptop which means it’s meant to be a high performance machine and probably has quite a bit more than I need but now that I’ve been using it a few weeks, I can’t imagine going back! The startup is so fast and everything just runs so smoothly. I love the feel of the keys and the 15.6 inch screen is large enough to comfortably watch movies without being so large that the laptop is just too heavy for me to ever want to take anywhere. And though I’m definitely not using it to its full potential at the moment, I am very glad that if I do choose to add some of the software I use for work, then this laptop will handle it with ease.

2. BabyCenter app

I’ve actually been using this app for the past few months and I love it! Each day it delivers articles that might be of interest to me considering the stage of pregnancy I’m in. This includes a large range of topics from tips for a healthy pregnancy to how your body is changing as the weeks progress to what to expect at checkups throughout the pregnancy. Also included are guided instructions for how to prepare a birth plan and the essential items you might consider buying before the baby’s arrival. One of my favorites is the weekly update on about how large the baby is…they find a fruit or vegetable comparable to the size each week which really helped with visualization. It includes a lot of other useful tools that store bumpies, answer questions about what is and is not safe and a contraction timer…haven’t used that last one yet!

3. Bella B Tummy Honey Butter

bella-b-tummy-honey-butter

Image source: http://www.amazon.com

Okay, first I feel the need to add a disclaimer. As far as I know, there isn’t any definitive research out there that shows that the various butters, creams, and oils advertised to reduce stretch marks actually do just that. And while I’m getting close to my due date and have yet to develop a single stretch mark on my tummy, I can’t be sure that it’s the butter and not a result of good genes along with a slow and steady weight gain throughout my pregnancy. That said, I’d still recommend this. Even without the consideration of minimizing or preventing stretch marks, this tummy butter makes my skin feel so much better! With all the stretching my tummy is doing, my skin has felt super dry and I do NOT want to be scratching my tummy all day long! This tummy butter is thick and really lasts the day. Plus it doesn’t have a strong smell, which was a major concern  early on in the pregnancy when just about everything with a scent made me sick. I would definitely test it out if I were wearing anything delicate that I thought might stain, but I’ve had no problem with it myself. It’s been all positives for me!

4. Simple flower arrangements

I bought this simple arrangement on an impulse and only after having it by my laptop for a day did I realize how much I’ve missed bringing a little nature into my indoor space. Yes, I do enjoy the flowers I see as I’m walking to and from work but there’s no reason I can’t enjoy some when I’m sitting and working inside, right? Such a simple thing that brightens my day. 🙂

5. The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf non-coffee dark chocolate ice blended drink

cbtl-dark-chocolate-drink

And finally, I have to include a bit of chocolate! I really try to limit my sugar intake but this has become my weekly treat. I’ve yet to develop a taste for coffee but I absolutely love dark chocolate. Plus the hormone surges that come with pregnancy seem to keep me running hot. That makes an ice-blended dark chocolate drink my perfect pregnancy treat! I’ve also been using it as a reward to myself so each week I set aside time to work on something that I’ve been dreading or procrastinating on and that is when I head to The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf and get myself this drink. It’s been quite motivating.

And that’s January! I’d like to say I know at least one thing I’ll be loving in February but I hear that babies arrive on their own schedules so we’ll just have to see. 😉

One comment

Leave a Reply

