Things I’m Loving – February 2017

I realized as I began to make my list for March that I never posted my list for February. The past few weeks have been incredibly busy…I think I say this all the time but it’s been busy in an entirely different way than usual: baby time! Our little bundle of joy arrived and while it’s been just as exhausting as I was warned, it’s also been more incredible than I could have ever imagined! ❤ We’re all doing well and I can’t believe how quickly the time is flying by. So, let’s get to the list before it gets any later!

1. Maternity leave

This one is perhaps really obvious. I’d originally planned to work right up until I went into labor and except for being a bit more tired than usual, I certainly felt well enough to do so. But, I ended up starting my leave a week before my due date simply because that was the only way I was going to get any down time from work (I was working all day plus most evenings and weekends right up until I took leave). Not only did I want to have a little time to mentally prepare myself for the upcoming life-changing event, but family also began arriving before my due date to spend time with us and await the baby’s arrival. It really helped to have some down time then and having time off to focus entirely on our daughter has been wonderful. I certainly wouldn’t have wanted to split my focus with anything else!

2. Lamaze Maternity and Nursing Sleepwear pajama set

 

Lamaze PJ Set

Image source: http://www.target.com

Toward the end of my pregnancy, it was difficult to get comfortable to sleep despite being more tired than usual. One thing that helped was looking forward to a nightly routine, which included brushing my teeth, washing my face, and changing into comfy pajamas. I found this Lamaze pajama set so comfortable with its soft, breathable fabric with room in the midsection for my greatly expanded belly. Plus I loved the lace detail and the cute stripe on the pants.

3. BabyCenter app contraction timer

babycenter-app

I mentioned the BabyCenter app previously but now I can say I’ve used the contraction timer feature and found it very helpful. Of course you could always time your contractions using your phone’s timer or a watch but I found it very convenient to use this timer. The tool is easy to use and keeps track of the start and stop times, the contraction length, and the time between contractions. It made it very easy for me to see when my contractions met the 5-1-1 rule (contractions are 5 minutes apart, lasting about 1 minute each, for 1 entire hour) and it was time to call the hospital.

4. The Accountant

The Accountant

Image source: http://www.amazon.com

This movie follows Christian Wolff, played by Ben Affleck, who is a math savant and much more than your typical accountant since he handles the accounts of some of the world’s largest criminal organizations and still manages to stay alive. I don’t want to spoil it for anyone so I’ll just say I very much enjoyed the movie and appreciated how well the action was balanced with character development as bits of Wolff’s past were slowly revealed throughout the movie.

5. Cake Couture chocolate cupcakes

Cake Couture cupcake

These are the most delicious cupcakes I’ve come across in some time. I’m not so much a sweets fan as I am a chocolate fan so these are perfect for me…they are definitely rich but not overly sweet and they are very moist, too. The bakery does offer several flavors of cupcakes each day as well as some specialty cakes but I go for the chocolate every time. 😉

Okay, time to go for now. The baby calls! Hopefully I’ll have the March list posted soon!

2 comments

  1. So what is your little darling’s name or did I miss that somewhere?
    Congrats and best wishes to all.

Leave a Reply

